UBCFA Executive Election 2019 – Voting Begins March 18, 2019

Your UBCFA Executive Committee members volunteer their time to help guide the Faculty Association’s operational and policy decisions including advocacy, negotiation, education, communication and planning. This year, a vote is being held to elect the Chair of the Member Services and Grievance Committee as well as three Members-at-Large for 2-year terms. Members on the Okanagan Campus will also be voting for the Chair of the Okanagan Faculty Committee and one of two non-executive positions, 2nd Vice-Chair, Okanagan Faculty Committee, also for 2-year terms.

This election will take place online beginning March 18th and ending at 4:30 p.m. Thursday, April 4, 2019. Members will be receiving an email invitation with instructions on how to vote. You will be directed to the voting website and required to enter the password contained in your email invitation as well as your 7-digit UBC Employee ID number. Our electronic voting is conducted through third party voting software to ensure that your vote is anonymous. (Please check your junk email if you do not receive your email invitation)

Nominees standing for election:

  • Chair, Member Services & Grievance Committee
    Arjun Bhardwaj (Management, UBCO)
    Kenny Kwok (Cellular & Physiological Sciences, UBCV)

  • Chair, Okanagan Faculty Committee (to be voted on by members at our Okanagan Campus only)
    Gino DiLabio (Chemistry, Management, UBCO)
    Peter Wylie (Economics, Philosophy, Political Science, UBCO)

  • Members-at-Large (3 Positions)
    Robert Campbell (Education, UBCO)
    James Johnson (Economics, UBCO)
    Annamma Joy (Management, UBCO)
    Ryuko Kubota (Language and Literacy Education, UBCV)
    Siobhán McPhee (Geography, UBCV)
    Miriam Spering (Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, UBCV)

Non-executive position to be voted on by members at our Okanagan Campus only:

  • 2nd Vice-Chair, Okanagan Faculty Committee
    Shirley Chau (Social Work, UBCO)
    Craig Nichol (Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences, UBCO)

Candidate statements are available on our website.

We thank all candidates who have agreed to stand for these positions.

Members of the 2019 UBCFA Election Nominations Committee: Bronwen Sprout, President (Library – Digital Initiatives), Nancy Langton, Past-President (Sauder School of Business), Mark Mac Lean, (Mathematics), Stephen O’Leary, (Engineering, UBCO), Anthony Paré (Head, LLED), and Deena Rubuliak (Executive Director/Ex-Officio).