UBCFA 2017 Executive Election – Voting Begins

UBCFA Executive Election: Voting Begins March 20, 2017

Your UBCFA Executive Committee members volunteer their time to help guide the Faculty Association’s operational and policy decisions including advocacy, negotiation, education, communication and planning decisions. This vote is being held to elect a new President for a 1-year term and three Members-at-Large for 2-year terms.


President (1-year term):

  • Nancy Langton (Sauder School of Business)
  • Alan Richardson (Philosophy)

Member-at-Large (3 positions, 2-year term):

  • Jennifer Berdahl (Sauder School of Business)
  • Stephen Guy-Bray (English)
  • Parisa Mehrkhodavandi (Chemistry)
  • Juliet O’Brien (FHIS)
  • Karen Smith (Microbiology)

Candidate statements are available at this link: https://ubcfa.wpengine.com/wp-content/uploads/ExecElections2017_Statements.pdf

This election will take place online beginning the week of March 20th and ending at the start of the Annual General Meeting, 1:00 p.m., April 6, 2017. Active faculty members will be receiving an email invitation with instructions on how to vote. You will be directed to the voting website and required to enter the password contained in your email invitation as well as your 7-digit UBC Employee ID number. Our electronic voting is conducted through third party voting software to ensure that your vote is anonymous.

Voting closes on Thursday, 6 April 2017 at the start of the UBCFA Annual General Meeting. The President will notify the successful candidates, and members will be advised of election results.

UBCFA Online Forum – Registration

Members are invited to connect with your candidates and colleagues on the UBCFA forum site which will open on WEDNESDAY, MARCH 22.  Access to forums is available to faculty members only and you MUST register to participate. Please email the Faculty Association at [email protected] to receive your username and password. If you have previously registered for our online forum, you can log in at any time. Registration hours: 8:30 am – 4:00 pm, Monday – Friday. Note: Faculty members who have registered for previous online forums are still registered but if you have forgotten your login credentials, please email the Faculty Association.

Thank you for taking the opportunity to exercise your voting rights as an Association member. It is your participation that makes our Association strong and effective.