UBCFA Executive Election 2019 – Announcement of Nominees

Dear Colleagues,

Your UBCFA Executive Committee members volunteer their time to help guide the Faculty Association’s operational and policy decisions including advocacy, negotiation, education, communication and planning decisions. This year, a vote is being held to elect the Chair of the Member Services and Grievance Committee as well as three Members-at-Large for 2-year terms. Members on the Okanagan Campus will also be voting for the Chair of the Okanagan Faculty Committee and one of two non-executive positions, 2nd Vice-Chair, Okanagan Faculty Committee, also for 2-year terms. The nomination period closed Friday, March 1st at 4:30 p.m. More information on the candidates and the election will follow soon.

We would like to congratulate the following nominees who have been elected by acclamation:

  • Chair, Status of Women Committee: Dory Nason (Institute for Critical Indigenous Studies, GRSJ – The Social Justice Institute, UBCV)
  • 1st Vice-Chair, Okanagan Faculty Committee: Allison McManus (School of Health & Exercise Science, UBCO)

Nominees standing for election:

  • Chair, Member Services & Grievance Committee
    Arjun Bhardwaj (Management, UBCO)
    Kenny Kwok (Cellular & Physiological Sciences, UBCV)

  • Chair, Okanagan Faculty Committee (to be voted on by members at our Okanagan Campus only)
    Gino DiLabio (Chemistry, Management, UBCO)
    Peter Wylie (Economics, Philosophy, Political Science, UBCO)

  • Members-at-Large (3 Positions)
    Robert Campbell (Education, UBCO)
    James Johnson (Economics, UBCO)
    Annamma Joy (Management, UBCO)
    Ryuko Kubota (Language and Literacy Education, UBCV)
    Siobhán McPhee (Geography, UBCV)
    Miriam Spering (Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, UBCV)

Non-executive position to be voted on by members at our Okanagan Campus only:

  • 2nd Vice-Chair, Okanagan Faculty Committee
    Shirley Chau (Social Work, UBCO)
    Craig Nichol (Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences, UBCO)


The Election will run from Monday, March 18 to Thursday, April 4, 2019 closing at 4:30 p.m. Members will be receiving a unique email link to vote online. If you have any questions about the positions or the election, please email the Faculty Association or call 604.822.3883.

Members of the 2019 UBCFA Election Nominations Committee: Bronwen Sprout, President (Library – Digital Initiatives), Nancy Langton, Past-President (Sauder School of Business), Mark Mac Lean, (Mathematics), Stephen O’Leary, (Engineering, UBCO), Anthony Paré (Head, LLED), and Deena Rubuliak (Executive Director/Ex-Officio).