Joint Announcement on the Joint Consultation Committee on Indigenous Scholarship and Other Forms of Diverse Scholarly Activity

In the last round of collective bargaining, The University of British Columbia (UBC) and the Faculty Association of the University of British Columbia (UBCFA) agreed to form a Joint Consultation Committee (JCC) on Indigenous and other diverse forms of scholarship. The mandate of the Committee is to provide guidance for assessing Indigenous scholarship and other diverse forms of scholarly activity for merit, appointment, and promotion and tenure processes for both the research and educational leadership streams, and to offer recommendations for language for the collective agreement before the next round of bargaining.

The UBCFA and UBC are pleased to announce the committee has begun this important work. While the mandate of the JCC stems from this agreement, UBC also sees its work aligned with the goals of the Indigenous Strategic Plan, including Action 24, which seeks to “broaden the criteria for tenure, promotion, and merit for faculty and staff to recognize excellence in incorporating Indigenous knowledge systems into teaching, curriculum development and research, including recognition of service in Indigenous-specific areas that goes above and beyond expectations” (ISP, p. 31). The UBCFA seeks to ensure its members who undertake Indigenous-centered scholarship have these forms of scholarly activity recognized, affirmed, and supported in the assessment processes under the collective agreement.

The timeline for the work of the JCC is as follows:

  • May-July: Information gathering of contract language and assessment tools from similar initiatives; reviewing Information and planning for consultation of focus groups
  • July-September: Stakeholder consultation focus groups
  • October-November: Prepare recommendations and submit report to both parties

Committee Members representing UBC:

JCC Co-Chair: Jan Hare Dean pro tem, Faculty of Education;
Sheryl Lightfoot Senior Advisor to the President on Indigenous Affairs, Political Science, School of Public Policy and Global Affairs, and Institute for Critical Indigenous Studies, UBCV;
Rehan Sadiq Executive Associate Dean, School of Engineering, UBCO;
Moura Quayle Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President, Academic Affairs;
Doug Thorpe-Dorward, University Staff Support

Committee Members representing the UBCFA:

JCC Co-Chair: Dory Nason Institute for Critical Indigenous Studies/GRSJ/FA Vice-President;
Daniel Heath Justice Institute for Critical Indigenous Studies/English;
Janette Bulkan Forestry;
Allison Hargreaves English/Cultural Studies, UBCO;
Deena Rubuliak, FA Staff Support

Graduate Academic Assistant:
Daniel Gomez

If you have any questions about the JCC or its work, please contact us at [email protected]