Acclaimed and Executive Election Notification

Your UBCFA Executive Committee members volunteer their time to help guide the Faculty Association’s operational and policy decisions including advocacy, negotiation, education, communication, and planning decisions. This year, a vote is being held to elect the President, and three (3) Members-at-Large. The nomination period closed Friday, March 1st at 4:30 p.m.

We would like to congratulate the following nominees who have been elected by acclamation:

  • Vice-President: Mark Mac Lean (Mathematics, UBCV)
  • Treasurer: Karen Smith (Microbiology & Immunology, UBCV)
  • Secretary: Chris Addison (Chemistry, UBCV)
  • Chair, Contract Faculty Committee: Stephanie Tolman (Language and World Literature, UBCO)
  • Chair, Librarians & Archivists Committee: Barbara Sobol (Library, UBCO)
  • Chair, Anti-Racism and Indigenous Initiatives Committee: Kevin Chong (Creative Studies, UBCO)

Nominees standing for election:

  • President:
    • Dory Nason (Inst. for Critical Indigenous Studies & Social Justice Inst., UBCV)
    • Stephen Petrina (Curriculum and Pedagogy, UBCV)
  • Member-at-Large (3 positions)
    • Pheroze Unwalla (History, UBCV)
    • Laura Bulk (Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy, UBCV)
    • Tal Jarus (Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy, UBCV)
    • Sarika Bose (English, UBCV)
    • Adam Hofri-Winogradow (Law, UBCV)
    • Stephen O’Leary (Engineering, UBCO)

Candidate statements will be available on our website during the voting period. We thank all candidates who have agreed to stand for these positions.

The Election will run from Wednesday, March 13 to Wednesday, March 27, 2024, closing at 4:30 p.m. Members will be receiving a unique email link to vote online. You will be directed to the voting website and required to enter the password contained in your email invitation as well as your 7-digit UBC Employee ID number. Our electronic voting is conducted through a third-party voting software to ensure that your vote is anonymous. (Please check your junk email if you do not receive your email invitation). If you have any questions about the positions or the election, please contact the Faculty Association at[email protected].